Leave a comment

Penguins Will Save the Day

Sick box for when you're sick

A penguin Christmas gift bag does duty as an emergency preparedness sick day kit

I don’t mind living alone – except when I’m sick. In 2015, I was sick on five separate occasions. And then this March, I battled a really bad flu, ending up with a ruptured eardrum. Especially this last time when I didn’t feel I should venture out with a bad ear, I found myself without soup, only one unopened box of tissues for backup, no cough drops, and low on lemons.

Because of this string of sick times, it occurred to me that I never seem to have what I need when I become ill. I tell myself I should have some tinned goods on hand for emergencies, but I most always end up opening them when I get too lazy to make dinner. Then, recently someone sent me one of those life hack emails – a list of 25 things you can do to make life easier for yourself. Number 16 jumped right out at me.

You plan ahead for sick days by making yourself an emergency preparedness box for when you don’t feel well. Stock up on things you might need but might not have on hand when you actually do become ill. I will eventually purchase some kind of case designed first aid or emergency preparedness. But when I couldn’t find a box, the penguins seemed capable enough to hold a box of Kleenex, ibuprofen, a couple of boxes of Mac & Cheese, a couple of tins of chicken noodle soup, packages of instant noodles, cough drops, and some NeoCitran. And a bag of delicious citrus rock candy because for some weird reason, when I’m sick, I crave something sweet.

I’m willing to bet, now that I have a dedicated container for cold or flu over-the-counter medications (and am committed to not eating the emergency food items), I won’t need to be rescued by the penguins after all. In the meantime, I feel better already.

Leave a Reply

