Leave a comment

Exploring Vanier Park

I diligently worked for three hours this morning and then gave up. I couldn’t let another sunny Vancouver day go to waste. I headed out with my journal and my camera. I took the bus to Cypress and Cornwall, walking down Cornwall until I encountered the Centennial Totem Pole, situated street-side of the Vancouver Maritime Museum. Then I randomly headed down a path toward water.

Sitting on a bench, I rediscovered the limitations of writing – how does one capture really the weight of a bird coasting on the wind; the sound of the tide rising higher as it rushes to shore; the smell of salt water evaporating on grey rocks.

I wandered around Vanier Park until I noticed a structure that resembled a large, freestanding broken picture frame. Turns out to be the 1980 Commemorative Statue to Capt. George Vancouver. Pondered for a while what it was about the statue that symbolized the personhood and achievements of Captain Vancouver.

After wandering around the park for a bit more, I made my way home.

Leave a Reply

