Leave a comment

Leg in Boot Square

Leg in Boot Square

Since today is a dreary and overcast with intermittent rain, I chose a picture from an excursion in July to Leg in Boot Square.

Occasionally, I go through my cover letter files searching for companies that might be worth contacting again now that some time has passed. I’m assuming that I didn’t land an interview or I would definitely have remembered the address. The name of the street intrigued me so much, it inspired me to go exploring.

In 1887, so the story goes, half a leg washed up on the shore of False Creek. The constabulary put the leg on display, hoping someone would claim it. Since 1887, the police station was torn down and Leg in Boot Square was designed as a pedestrian-only public space. To date, no one has claimed the leg.

Leave a Reply

