Leave a comment

Story of My Life

Two steps forward;
three steps to the side,
like dancing in circles
I travel backwards in time;
caught like an animal
in the trap of the past.

Faces of loved ones
turn into pumpkins at midnight;
love is a glass slipper
left behind on a stair.

I need protection
only from myself;
from my habit of spilling
too many secrets
like a child
careless with a bag of jelly beans–
blue (lies), yellow (questions)
with green (promises)
in danger, on the ground,
of being trampled beneath our feet.

Touching your skin again
is like learning another language
where words have no vowels,
so foreign to my tongue,

I cannot speak.

Leave a Reply

