Leave a comment

Afternoon with the Bard

Vanier Park

Earlier this week, I had the good fortune to attend a matinee performance of The Tempest on the Main Stage of Bard on the Beach. My friend Maggie was given two tickets, and she asked me if I wanted to go. Of course I said yes! Walking to Vanier Park, the greyness of the day had a slight, negative impact on my mood after all of our sunshine the previous few days. That didn’t last for long.

Upon entering the theatre, I was enchanted. With False Creek as the backdrop, the scenic design was configured to allow the story to unfold as though within a giant seashell. I thought Ariel would actually fly like I had pictured in my mind. But Jennifer Lines (Ariel) didn’t need to float around in the air – never once throughout play did it occur to me that she was not a sprite or magical creature of some kind. In fact, all the principals – Allan Morgan (Prospero), Lili Beaudoin (Miranda, his daughter), Scott Bellis (Alonso, King of Naples), Daniel Doheny (Ferdinand, king’s son) and Todd Thomson (Caliban) – were excellent. There were no weak links in the supporting cast either.

The Tempest is one of my favourite plays by Shakespeare. The set, the music, the actors, cast their spell on me. I was very impressed by this production. Both Maggie and I enjoyed our afternoon with the Bard.

Bard on the Beach Mainstage

Leave a Reply

