Leave a comment

Memories

So that I will not disturb you
while you sleep
someplace else,
I could not sleep
for remembering.

I send you telepathic messages;
I talk softly to myself
so no one can hear.
Dialogues
misplaced like pocket change.

Tears in your eyes
give me hope.
I am returned from Bedlam.

But by three,
the day is ironed flat.
Brain numb from folding laundry.
I promise myself strawberries.

Mirrors are my enemies
where memories of your face
overwrite images of my own.

I sit
in the early morning light,

and pretend we never met.

Leave a Reply

