Leave a comment

Key to the Puzzle

The years have snowed me under
paranoia and tears;
left ice crystals embedded
in my heart;
misted over my eyes from seeing any possibilities.

I breathe again,
surrounded by a nest of days
that nurture me
until it is safe to fly.

I have no understanding
of how I came to be this way–
afraid of my own shadow
afraid you will murder me
a second time
with your inability
to see me as I am.

The pieces of the whole picture
are scattered across a table
fourteen years wide.

But the key
to the puzzle
lies in a blue room
bathed in early morning light

from which no one
gets out alive.

Leave a Reply

