Leave a comment

Light, Shadows and a Peacock Chair

Peacock Wicker Chair

In the 70s, this style of wicker chair was known as a Chinese reading chair. And I wanted one for my bedroom – a chair dedicated to the pursuit of reading seemed like a wondrous thing to own. It never happened until I had been living in Vancouver for about three years. Accompanying a friend on a trip to a thrift store, I spotted one tucked unobtrusively in a corner. It said “Buy me.” I did. But when I tried to make it fit into my bedroom decor, my peacock chair wouldn’t cooperate. So I put it out on my balcony, where I can look up from my book and see the ocean when I want a break from reading.

Over a year ago now, I was working at the computer when I glanced up at the wall above the couch. I’ve been trying to capture it “on film” ever since. In the late morning, the sun threw the shadow of the wicker chair on my balcony onto the living room wall. Finally, the other day I captured an image I was somewhat happy with.

Leave a Reply

