2 Comments

Half Empty vs. Half Full

Lately I’ve been thinking about that glass of water. You know, the one that raises the philosophical question, “Is the glass half empty or half full?” Or it can symbolize choosing a positive state of mind over a negative one. Either way, the last two and a half weeks have been a bumpy road, philosophically and psychologically speaking.

I have also been thinking a lot about Moses. While it’s only been three years slogging across the desert of unemployment, it does feel more like 40. I try to keep a positive attitude and fight ferociously against those niggling thoughts that nothing will change; that I will still be struggling to be where I want to be 10 years from now; and that there will be fewer opportunities available to me with each passing year.

Forget the glass. In short, I try to see myself as half full instead of half empty. When dark voices threaten to convince me that, like Moses, I’ll never reach the Promised Land, I consciously turn my thoughts to what is good; what is working in my life. As I mentioned, the past couple of weeks have been a struggle.

But at the end of last week I did a telephone interview with a company I would like to work for. And this past Monday, I was interviewed for a library position that I really really want. So, I am pleased to report, that once again, the Promised Land is in my line of sight.

2 comments on “Half Empty vs. Half Full

  1. Life has a way of surprising us when we least expect it. Here’s to a fantastic surprise 😉

  2. Thanks! I have my fingers crossed 🙂

Leave a Reply

