Leave a comment

Haven’t Killed Mystery Plant Yet

Plant Appeared on Apartment Balcony

It’s not the first time a mystery plant appeared on my balcony and started growing. The pink creature above emerged one day in the spring of 2009. At first I thought it was a weed, because it was just green for a long time and then the pink blooms showed themselves. I had no idea what it was. When it seemed happy growing on my balcony and was pretty, I let it be.  Unfortunately, it didn’t survive the winter. It seemed to be doing well, which was why I hadn’t brought it inside.  But when snow hit Vancouver that winter, I guess it was on of those plants that couldn’t abide the cold cold.

Unidentifiable apartment balcony plant

One day last month when reading on my apartment balcony, I noticed a shoot sticking out of the bottom of the tub my lilies are it. I wrote it off as a weed or grass.  Then about a couple of weeks after that, the “weed” had sprouted into what appears above – an actual plant growing out of the side of the lily tub. This mystery plant actually does look like a weed of some kind, but since it seemed so determined to grow, In spite of my I-don’t-have-a-green-thumb complex, I thought I’d experiment. After gently extracting the plant from the bottom of the planter, I replanted it in a smaller pot and put it on the patio table.

It appears to be doing well, although now the little white flowers are dropping away, but the leaves have remained very green and healthy-looking. Apparently, it’s not unusual for seeds, etc. to be borne on the wind until they com to roost, whether that earth happens to be at ground level or on a balcony. I still have no idea what it is, but hopefully it will survive the winter.

Leave a Reply

