Leave a comment

Rethinking the Tummy Table – Week One (Again)

I decided to do Week One of the Weight Watcher’s exchange food plan again since the previous week hadn’t gone too well. This past week, I am pleased to report, went much better. I did manage to loose half a pound. But this upcoming week I intend on sticking to the plan more closely; while I most certainly don’t want to lose 10 pounds in one week, it is going a little too slowly for my liking, largely due to the fact that I keep sidetracking myself.

Yes, I treated myself to a milkshake and while it wasn’t strictly “legal” I chose the snack size over regular size and kept within the exchanges as much as possible – I used both my daily milk portions (one for milk and the other to cover the ice cream) and one of three of my daily fruits.

My Biggest Challenge

This past week my biggest challenge was fighting my sweet tooth. During my Trial Run week, eating a piece of fruit seemed to quell any cravings, but it didn’t seem to work this time.

What Worked for Me

  • Drinking 2 glasses of water first thing in the morning before ingesting anything else. I noticed that I am more likely to not follow the food plan if I eat something or drink a cup of coffee before my 2 glasses of water. It’s a little trick I picked up from reading French Women don’t Get Fat I’ve forgotten why Ms. Guiliano recommends it; I just know it works for me
  • The 20-minute rule – I give myself permission to eat if I’m hungry but I make myself wait 20 minutes after eating a meal. If I am still feeling hungry then I’ll reach for some celery, green pepper slices or a carrot
  • When the 20-minute rule didn’t work, brushing my teeth helped stop potential episodes of mindless eating
Leave a Reply

