1 Comment

Rethinking the Tummy Table – Week One

Rather than deal with familiar issues of being so far away from my family and not having the frequency of contact with my sister and niece that I desire, the week leading up to a holiday and the holiday itself can sometimes inspire me to eat my way through my feelings. That’s what happened this past week when attempting my healthy weight loss goal.

Of the 21 meals outlined in Week One of the Weight Watcher’s exchange food plan that I committed myself to for five weeks, I fell off the wagon for ten of them. As good as half. The good news is, while I didn’t lose any weight, I didn’t gain any either. Since it was Easter Sunday, I had some chocolate, loosely followed Day 7 and vowed to start fresh on Monday (today).

My Biggest Challenge

Not eating my way through what’s bothering me.

Even though I ended up not really following Week One and being disappointed in myself, it wasn’t a total bust.

Lessons Learned

  • I really need scheduled meal times to help avoid becoming too hungry and then reaching for things that will quickly fill me up like bread and pasta. Waiting until I feel hungry to eat a meal, as some nutritionists recommend,  doesn’t seem to work for me.
  • It’s okay to “fail.” I’m determined to feel better generally and improve my overall health, so I’m going to keep trying until I succeed.
  • I genuinely feel bad when I’m not following a healthy eating plan and I feel good when I do. (Seems obvious but I guess I’m a slow learner.)
One comment on “Rethinking the Tummy Table – Week One

  1. The faster you perform it, the more momentum there is, which lessens the tension on
    the abs. Engaging the abs properly can be tricky, especially
    the lower abs as they can be hard to reach with most exercises.

    The plank and side plank are both useful for toning the abs and
    back at the same time, adding stability to your core.

Leave a Reply

