Leave a comment

Kindness of Strangers

Okay, this is just weird or lucky or fortuitous.

Mail delivery in our building usually occurs between 11:45 and 12:30. Today, when the postal carrier delivered the mail, it was just a handful of junk mail, which I immediately scooped up and transported directly to the paper recycle bin. Then I returned to the computer to continue job searching and job interview prepping.

Not even 10 minutes later, I heard the mail slot open and close again. I found a GST cheque in a glass window envelope. It had been opened, put back in the envelope incorrectly so that the address was folded inward, and the cheque had been detached from the body of the notice letter. When I removed the letter and checked the address, I immediately noticed that there was no apartment number; the street address was listed correctly, but the unit designation was missing.

I picked up the phone and called the number listed for Revenue Canada, Province of British Columbia. In the course of helping me out, the Revenue Canada representative discovered that two other previous cheques had been addressed the same way; she wanted to know if I had received them. When I checked my tax file folder (yes, it’s listed alphabetically in the top drawer of a 2-drawer file cabinet; don’t give me grief), I had indeed received both of them.

Which meant that three times including today someone in the apartment block knew where I lived and hand deliver it themselves. (I’m hoping it was the building manager). Although this is the first time the government cheque envelope had been opened. What’s even stranger is that I never noticed until now.

No more depending on the kindness of strangers – the Revenue Canada representative amended my address to include the apartment number.

Leave a Reply

