Leave a comment

New Day, New Year

New Day New Year

I still can’t believe that another year has gone by and I have now arrived in 2013. Whenever I take pictures of the view from my balcony, I usually face English Bay, because, of course (being a Pisces) the ocean is more interesting to me than a bunch of buildings.

But this morning when I woke up, it being a new day, new year, I decided to face the other direction; a foreshadowing, if you will,  of my commitment to making this year truly different in some meaningful ways. New Year’s resolutions don’t work for me. I thought that rethinking resolutions into projects might work better (they didn’t).

In 2013, I am going to try promises to myself. I promise to:

  • dance more often
  • learn how to take better pictures
  • forgive myself
  • finish my novel
  • write consistently without losing the passion
  • take better care of myself
  • find work that is meaningful to me
  • live less in the past
  • read more biographies
  • try more recipes with more than 5 ingredients
  • less Facebook time and more real time with friends

Even though I knew it was the wrong cocktail for the era, last night I brought in the New Year by drinking paralyzers (1 1/2 oz Kahlua, 1 oz Vodka, 1 oz cola, top up with milk) and watching Mad Men Season Five disc 1. Today I am at the computer working on my novel and taking a break by writing and posting a New Year blog. Happy New Year everyone!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

