Leave a comment

A Few of My Favourite Things

I was thinking about my dad the other day and for some reason, Julie Andrews popped into my head.

The Sound of Music came to my father’s theatre (he was relief projectionist at the King’s Theatre) in 1965 and stayed for just over two years at a time when there was a first-run or tiered movie release system. (Theater buffs will know what that means – the rest of you probably won’t care.) As a family (minus dad – he was in the projectionist booth), we saw the movie several times. Climb Ev’ry Mountain and My Favourite Things were my two favourite songs from the movie.

What with being on a tight budget and not being able to go out to eat in restaurants as often as I once did when I had a full-time job, thinking of The Sound of Music reminded me that a lot of my favourite things don’t require hard cash.

Here are a few of my personal favourites:

  • the smell of fresh laundry
  • sitting on my balcony reading in the sun
  • the view of English Bay from my apartment
  • walking by the seawall
  • reading a book accompanied by a cup of freshly made hot tea
  • re-reading old friends – Tuck Everlasting, The Blue Castle, Gift from the Sea
  • writing with a fountain pen
  • homemade soup
  • trying a new recipe
  • baking peanut butter cookies
  • having a bubble bath
  • eating breakfast in bed on a Sunday morning
  • being a tourist in my hometown
  • listening to jazz
  • playing the drums
  • watching movies

And yes, even rain drops on roses and whiskers on kittens!

Leave a Reply

