2 Comments

What is Your Dream Job?

I used to look up certain topics in preparation for a specific job interview. Now I spend about an hour a day of my job search browsing through internet resources, familiarizing myself with a variety of job hunting strategies. Yesterday I discovered a site that listed 50 common interview questions and how some of them are designed to trip you up.

One of them is, “What is your dream job?” If you answer literally, you can’t win. When you say that it’s the position you are applying for, you’ll seem a bit insincere. By describing a position that appeals to you, you might give them the impression that you won’t be happy as the newest member of their company. It caught my attention because I have fallen into the trap several times, simply because I didn’t realize it was a trick question.

But just for fun, I would like to answer the question according to the strictest sense of the phrase. My dream job would combine my love of history and design with my passion for words and writing. Throw into the mix the management of data and the organization of information (i.e. cataloguing books and non-book materials), and I could sit at a desk for 12 hours straight happily working away.

In case you are dying to know how this job interview question should be handled, here it is: keep it vague, light on specifics. Say something like: a job that allows me to be part of a team, as well as the opportunity to work independently; or a job that I look forward going to everyday. Come on confess…it’s not as exciting as telling a prospective employer the real skinny, is it?

2 comments on “What is Your Dream Job?

  1. PLEASE SEND EVERYONE TO myshellemarie.wordpress.com FOR MY BLOG HELP THE HOMELESS BEGINNINGS SOCIETY…..EMPLOYMENT BOOM TO COME IN SEPTEMBER!!!!! WEBSITE BELOW STILL BEIND DESIGNED AT OUTLINED IN BLOG…

Leave a Reply

