Leave a comment

It was a Beautiful Wedding

Wedding Ceremony Assiniboine Park

My niece’s wedding was held at two venues in Assiniboine Park in Winnipeg. The ceremony was held behind the Pavilion in what I have always referred to as the hanging garden (not its official name) because of the vines growing across wire mesh between the columns.

July 2nd in Winnipeg was a mixed bag of tricks, weatherwise. The chance percentage of a thunderstorm kept changing from newscast to newscast. But everyone seemed to agree on the possibility of one occurring. Indeed at point during the ceremony thunder could be heard and it started to spit.

Bride and Groom Kissing

The reception at the Qualico Family Centre was lovely. It began at 6:30 with approximately 115 people in attendance. The wedding party consisted of The Maid of Honor, the Best Man, and three Bridesmaids and Groomsmen.

Niece's wedding reception

I sat with the Mother of the Bride (my sister) and her husband, and a close friend of both my sister and niece, with her husband. We were seated right in front of the head table, so I got a good view of all of the speeches and toasts. I hadn’t seen much of my niece after arriving in Winnipeg, but after their first dance, I finally snagged her and her new husband for a picture with the happy couple.

Happy Couple

Leave a Reply

