1 Comment

Discipline (or lack thereof)

I have never looked upon discipline as a negative thing. When looking at the big picture, I recognize it as a tool to get myself focused, organized and ready to tackle the task at hand. Without it, I wouldn’t be able to accomplish much.

Developing good habits like being disciplined is, I’m finding, imperative to being a successful freelance writer. While I am the first to acknowledge that being disciplined is not a negative concept, but rather a positive one, I also have to admit that I’m not particularly good at it.

Since becoming a freelance writer, I am discovering that, especially if I’m researching a new topic, I can be easily distracted by the wonders of the World Wide Web. Looking up Topic B will for some mysterious reason remind me that I haven’t heard about Robin Williams for awhile. While Googling Robin Williams a movie title pops into my head and then oh, I need to see what time Dancing with the Stars is airing and then…well you get the idea.

The funny thing is, I’ve never really considered myself undisciplined. Okay so maybe I’m in denial. This is one of the hardest things for me about freelancing that is going to take some effort to change – managing my own time as opposed to having to work within an established corporate structure. Which isn’t surprising since discipline (or having someone outline the tasks for the day/week) keeps me on track.

In my quest to develop the good habit of discipline, my goal for the remainder of this week is to start small – make a to-do list; cross off each item once completed; and then enjoy feeling the resulting sense of accomplishment.

One comment on “Discipline (or lack thereof)

  1. Oh yes. I hear you. The worst is my browser. If I have the MSN browser or something like that, I can’t even remember what I’ve come to look up as I’m distracted by news articles and visual stuff exploding in front of me. It’s too much! If you figure it out….how to stay focused on the www, let me know!

Leave a Reply

