2 Comments

Future Prospects

Since being laid-off March 18, 2011, I have been conducting an extensive job search that has not yet resulted in a permanent, full-time position. One of my favourite movies for the past little while has been Up in the Air. Yes, it might indeed have something to do with George Clooney, but it is the film’s theme that speaks to me more than his pretty face.

It’s about a corporate downsizer (Clooney) who is hired by companies to fire their employees because management can’t do it themselves. I like how Jason Reitman, the director, shows the reactions of the people Clooney has told they no longer work for Company X. I could really relate, which isn’t surprising, since in the commentary, Mr. Reitman admits that for the fired employee segments, he used actual people (not actors) who had recently lost their jobs.

For over a year now my life has been pretty much up in the air. While holding down a full-time, 9 to 5 job has its cons, I like knowing I have to be somewhere at a certain time, for a certain number of hours, for which I will be paid a certain sum of money. Because words are my thing, in response to my news that I’m still unemployed, friends have suggested that I become a freelance writer. I agree and nod consent, but left to my own devices, I resist. The thought of essentially running my own business is somewhat terrifying.

But then something interesting began to happen. A person I knew through my last place of employment needed copy for their new company’s website, including ongoing contributions to their blog. I started out tentatively with one client and to date there are four. Now I feel up in the air, but for a different reason. This time it’s due to future prospects and question marks that turn into freelance writing jobs.

2 comments on “Future Prospects

  1. I’m so excited for you! Tis the way of the future…on your own. You are a wonderful writer. I know you ‘ll be very successful.

Leave a Reply

