2 Comments

Christmas Presents for the New Year

writing journal and acme pen

Yes Santa was good to me. Very good. But the two Christmas presents that set my heart pitter-pattering and my imagination racing were a journal and an Acme pen.

The Journal

Amongst the bounty my sister sent was a bound notebook with blank, lined pages. Although I never seem to be disciplined enough to write daily in a writing journal like creative writing students are taught, I love bound, bland notebooks. Once past the attempt to write something every day, the journal du jour moves around from room to room, inviting random thoughts, short story ideas, bits of novels and verses of poems that never grow past the first or second stanza.

But this journal will be different for the following reasons:

  • The cover is a soft suede-like material with engraved flowers, and it’s purple (my favourite colour)!
  • Its mysterious, and no matter what genre, what writer doesn’t love a mystery? By mysterious I mean the journal just is – it has no markings of any kind – no company name, made in _____, copyright date.
  • It “came with” a designer pen, making both journal and writing implement a dynamic duo I really won’t be able to resist.

The Pen

When a friend of mine first told me about the Acme Pen company, I went to their website and did some exploring. Each collection is created by top designers and these high-end writing instruments are extremely popular collectibles. I received the “Roses” pen.

I know it sounds outdated to write a story, article or blog using paper and pen, but for me nothing inspires me more than sitting in front of a journal opened to a blank page accompanied by a good pen. By the time I sit in front of a blank computer screen, I’m usually already at the first draft stage.

As soon as I took Roses out of her case and held it in my hand, I just knew I’d be able to write great things with this pen in the New Year.

Happy New Year everyone! Here’s to a healthy and prosperous 2012!

2 comments on “Christmas Presents for the New Year

  1. Sounds like the perfect gift! Hope you have a wonderful new year!

  2. I have been browsing on-line more than 3 hours today, but I never found any interesting article like yours. It is beautiful worth sufficient for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you did, the net shall be much more helpful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

