1 Comment

Mission: Chocolate

A Chocolate Cafe

My favourite breakfast is coffee and chocolate. Actually, long before the piece-of-chocolate-beneath-the-tongue ecstasy depicted in the Aero Bar commercial, I had my own special ritual – brew coffee slightly stronger than usual; add cream; unwrap chocolate. Savour slowly.

It has to be Expensive

The caveat, of course, is that it has to be expensive. Or as expensive (handmade vs. mass produced) as I can afford. So, when my sister had emergency surgery in the third week of November for appendicitis, I used it as a perfect excuse to send her a care package, which, naturally included chocolate.

Ever since I read an article about Mink Chocolates, a chocolate café in downtown Vancouver that featured handmade or artisan chocolate, I have been meaning to try it out. Given my proclivity for putting things off, I have never been before care package mission.

What’s in a (Delicious) Name?

Upon opening the door of this luscious chocolate café, the first thing that hits me (literally) is the delectable aroma – an intense blend of coffee and chocolate that was somehow comforting rather than overpowering. I come to a dead stop (good thing there was no one behind me!) to simply stand there and just breathe it in. I definitely intend on returning to treat myself to one of their specialty waffles, but because I was on a chocolate mission, I headed straight for the display case.

Where another surprise awaited me. The names of each chocolate bar were nothing short of genius. After careful consideration, I selected “Open In Case of Emergency” (mint & Kentucky bourbon) and “Pas De Deux” (Amaretto & dried cherries) for my sister and “Navel Gazing” (candied zest of orange) for myself.

Life is Like That

I spoke to my sister yesterday and she assured me that the care package arrived in one piece. She confessed that both bars of chocolate are history, consumed in the evening while watching a movie – I guess she doesn’t subscribe to the same coffee-and-chocolate-breakfast ritual as her sister.

Mink Chocolates

One comment on “Mission: Chocolate

  1. You can definitely see your expertise in the work you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

Leave a Reply

