1 Comment

Anything You Can Do

When something goes sideways like an appliance won’t work or I keep pressing the remote and nothing happens, I have a bad habit of immediately springing into my who-can-I-get-to-fix-this mode. It doesn’t occur to me to try to figure it out for myself first.

When Something Happens

Earlier this week, intent on making headway on the job search front, I sat down at the computer and turned it on. I dealt with some emails, logged on to Facebook and checked my blog for comments. I only had three windows open, when I grabbed the mouse to click on one of my job search websites. Nothing happened – the mouse moved across the surface of my desk, but the cursor most definitely remained glued to one spot.

The first thing I think of is the expense of calling my favourite computer guy and have him come to fix it; second thing that occurs to me is this is going to take up a chunk of my job search time; and the third realization that comes to mind is the information that I need to call my favourite computer guy is on my computer. To which I do not have access at the moment.

Figuring it Out

I jiggle the mouse again. No dice. I pull out the wire that connects the mouse to the computer. Nothing happens. I check it again just to make sure, only to discover that I disconnected the right speaker instead. I lean closer so I can get a better look and from the tangle cords, pick the right one this time.

I know I’ve picked the right wire because the mouse goes dark – no amount of jiggling will make the red laser reappear.

Life is Like That

It finally occurred to me that I had unplugged the mouse, so now the computer needed to know it was plugged back in. I force shut down the computer and then restart it. The mouse has been officially resuscitated!

I know it’s such a little thing, but successful computer troubling shooting gave me such a sense of empowerment and a positive boost to my self esteem, that I have to confess, I was definitely smug about it for the remainder of the day.

One comment on “Anything You Can Do

  1. Auto shut down your computer at a specified time…

    If you like to listen to music from your computer while lying in bed comfortably until sleep. But most of time, you don’t want your computer to be on all the time during your sleep, you only want it be on for first few hours. So here you need a a…

Leave a Reply

