2 Comments

When an Alias Comes in Handy

I’m doing my jobs search yesterday and after plugging in several of my favourite keywords like “copywriter,” “blogger” and “editor” up pops a job description for a position that looks awfully familiar. And it should, considering I had been doing the job for 4 1/2 years at the company from which I had been laid-off in March.

Revenge is a Dish

The first thing that sprang to mind was Bob, a cracker salesman with an impressive track record. He was terminated, three years before I left, for reasons management would not share (and rightfully so). But Bob refused to go gentle into that good night of unemployment. He placed an ad on Craigslist advertising a call centre position at $23.00/hr – bring resume in person.

Needless to say, my former employer was inundated with a constant stream of people from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. wanting to apply for a position that didn’t exist, at a salary only a small handful of managers were being paid.

Bob was the talk of many a lunch break. While most of us paid lip service to how unsporting his behaviour was, there were  few of us (myself included) who secretly admired the beautiful symmetry of Bob’s simple but elegant plot for revenge.

Best Served Cold

I sat for a minute just staring at the screen feeling, I must confess, a bit sucker punched. It hurt that I hadn’t received a phone call to see if I was still available and would I be interested in coming back. Zip. Zilch. Nada. True, they probably assumed that after this much time has passed, I’ve moved on to greener pastures.

While I have no stomach for revenge, it is tempting, served cold or otherwise. But I am curious as to what would happen if I submitted my resume for the position using an alias.

2 comments on “When an Alias Comes in Handy

  1. It just goes to show that employers don’t care about employees. I quit a good (but awful awful paying) job to go overseas, and when I came back I decided to be proactive (and swallow my pride) by announcing to my old employers that I was back early and, if a position became available, if they could let me know. I know now that I was 100% foolish to give up this job, but I figured i’d just find out how they were doing anyways.

    I think you should submit yourself as an alias–what do you have to lose?

    • It’s good to hear that things worked out for you (even if the pay isn’t what you’d like it to be).

      I am still tempted, although that might not even be an option any more…the day after I wrote this post, I heard that the company laid more people off.

Leave a Reply

